Why start now?

Posted: January 21, 2013 in Views and opinions

The idea of starting a blog can be overwhelming. Why do it? Why start now? I have a full time job, is this something I really need to put my time in? The answer for me is there is no better time to start then now. Why put it off anymore? I have started this blog on a very important date for the subject matter of what I want to write about.

Image

Today is the first day of practice for the 2013 Senior Bowl in Mobile, AL. It is the most prestigious and watched college football showcase that takes place each year. It is the who’s who of future NFL stars. The craziest thing, no one really cares about the game. Scouts, coaches, general managers, Jerry Jones, they all come out to watch, get this, practice. They drool over the 1 on 1 drills and the 7 on 7 drills. OL coaches are intently watching how the “big uglies” move from drill to drill and how they “anchor” and if they are “tight hipped.” Does he have “movement skills” the analysts on TV will ask (that’s you Mike Mayock). It is the only time you will find a bunch of overweight, middle aged men sitting around a weight scale watching a parade of finely trained men walking around in underwear. Well, that is until the greatest men’s underwear modeling show of year… The NFL Combine!

Here is the deal, I love football. I know, a lot of people love football. But I love the stuff you don’t see. I love the game planning of the coaching staff, the trades and signings, the undrafted free agent story that every team has. I LOVE the scouting. I love the stuff behind the scenes. The business of football and the scouting of players that keep the NFL product the greatest athletic brand on the planet drives my personal interests on a daily basis.

The fact that it falls on Martin Luther King Day is interesting because this has been a dream of mine for a while that I really thought I would have done years ago.

So here goes nothing… be gentle.

Leave a Reply

